UCLA Mildred E. Mathias Botanical Garden

One morning, before the conference began, I had time to wander around the UCLA Mildred E. Mathias Botanical Garden at the edge of the UCLA campus. I was so glad I could go and was amazed at the difference in vegetation between that of Europe and that of California. Even though there is a certain roughness to the plants, obviously designed in such a way due to harsh climate and to enable their survival, I still found a beauty applied to them. The garden was superbly kept and I was surprised at how underused it was. There was hardly a soul about while I walked about. There were only squirrels for company. I hope I captured some of that beauty in these photographs.

20120406-114501.jpg

20120406-114519.jpg

I had never seen so many cacti before! I loved the many varieties and their shapes and sizes. Some looked positively lethal!

I  came across this beast of a thing, which kind of left me in awe. It was a tree but had spikes on its trunk. I loved the symmetry of the spikes and the leaves. I decided to give tree-hugging a pass this time around.

There were many plants with vivacious colours such as these Californian poppies, which really brightened up the place.

When I think of bamboo I am reminded of the fight scene which takes place in a bamboo forest in the film Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon. Tall, vibrant green forests of the stuff. So I was amazed to see the bamboo below which has red berries, red rimmed leaves and is a smaller variety. It is known as Heavenly Bamboo.

Heavenly bamboo

20120406-114536.jpg

This plant’s leaves felt so thick and surreal, almost cloth-like in texture. Some trees were very surreal. For instance, the tree on the left reminded me of a hand sticking up in the air, in salute, and the tree on the right made me think of the mythological character, Medusa, who had a head of snakes for hair!

              I enjoyed watching the tortoises sunning themselves on the rocks in the stream and watching the world go by. Well for some, I guess :)

3 Comments

Filed under Garden, photography

3 responses to “UCLA Mildred E. Mathias Botanical Garden

  1. The first few photos look a lot like the plants/cactus that we planted in our yard in Palm Springs, CA (2 hours east of LA) It was a great landscape for the desert. I am glad I can still grow some cactus where we are in Texas. I love all the textures.

  2. Looks like you were in the Desert Garden. I’ve always meant to see the whole garden, but haven’t made it yet. How nice that you got to see California–we were just there!

  3. Hope things are going alright with you. Thanks for stopping by my blog and checking out the loofah’s. I really need to remember to plant them again next spring. They were SO fun to grow!

Leave a Reply

