A bittersweet symphony…

Olwyn's first day

This day one year ago my beautiful daughter, Olwyn, was born to this world. Olwyn has been eager from the onset. She always wants things done now and is keen to get into whatever her bigger sister is playing with at the time. Olwyn gives such sweet smiles with the most expressive big blue eyes and she is always laughing or singing. She even manages to look cute when she is crying.

 Olwyn arrived in a rush after a short labour and one day early.  Peter was there with me every step of the way with words of encouragement when I thought I had enough. Olwyn’s birth brought us even closer as we supported each other through the emotional rollercoaster.

I did not use the epidural and I think this made things move along quicker. It also forced me to trust my body. It was very powerful and so different to the birth of my first daughter. With my first, Seren, I had the epidural and to some extent I felt lost and not in control. For Olwyn’s birth, when we arrived in the hospital (in a fluster) I was already 5 centimetres. The midwife (a man) let me at it and he was there more for guidance than anything else. He let us three at it and Olwyn was born an hour and a half after we first walked through the doors. I will never forget the thoughts, emotions, tears and laughter of pushing her little body into this world. The elation at my waters popping and her arrival will stay with me forever.

The kids playing

I went to shower after I fed Olwyn and let the new Daddy get acquainted with his precious bundle. When I arrived back in the room, I found him on the phone to his parents in Canada. He was cradling his head and wouldn’t look up. Immediately, I had a gut reaction that all was not well. Peter’s grandmother had passed away that night, about five hours before Olwyn was born. The air was heavy with that news  lingering and sinking in. We were left in the room for a good while to cry tears of joy and sadness. The staff in the hospital were so considerate.

Peter’s grandmother was a great woman and we all miss her dearly. In a way, her passing and Olwyn’s birth is what life is all about. A bittersweet day.

1 Comment

Filed under Family, Motherhood

One response to “A bittersweet symphony…

  1. It was an emotional day, it’s been an emotional year and I am now an emotional wreck! That was beautifully written… thank you.

    I miss you Grandma, I love you Olwyn, Happy 1st Birthday!

    Life is unfolding as it should.

    Life is good.

    pox

Leave a Reply

