Who needs television?

Really?! I mean, children are so easily amused. Take my children for instance. Plonk them onfront of the washing machine and they pretend that they are in the cinema.

What kid doesn’t love getting messy with a paint brush, paper and bright colours. This is always a winner until the kid tries finger painting. Then it is time for some disaster management!

A favourite past-time is by far flicking through the many, many books they have on their own dedicated book shelves. You know when it has gone all quiet that they are sitting happily sifting through and reading their books. Either this or they are up to no good…

When it is not raining outside, no child wants to be stuck indoors. So on with the wellies and off out with them to explore, dig for worms, smell new blossoms and generally act the maggot.

5 Comments

Filed under Family, Motherhood

5 responses to “Who needs television?

  1. Thanks so much for visiting my ‘Careann’s Musings’ blog today via Freshly Pressed. I love meeting new people here in cyberspace. As a writer I keep my blog’s focus mostly on writing, but I post on other topics, too.

    I love your suggestions for keeping youngsters active. I have grandchildren who hardly ever watch TV and I think it’s great. They love to read, too, which of course I’m happy to see. It’s a love we encourage when they’re very young, both by setting an example of reading ourselves, and in making the reading experience a joyful adventure for them. Our youngest grandchildren are flying in for an Easter visit soon, and the request came by e-mail, “Can we go to your library as soon as we get there, Gran?” Apparently their Mom says there’s no room in their suitcases for all the books they want to bring!

    • Thanks for your speedy reply Carol! I just posted this. Sounds like your grandchildren are going to have lots of fun. I am so glad they appreciate books. I empathise with their mom though. Our relatives live in Toronto and it is always difficult trying to reason what books to bring. Enjoy your Easter with your family!

  2. Great post. I love seeing kids be creative. Our kids play all the time. once or twice a week we might watch one cartoon or show them some you tube videos of animals of planes, but for the most part they just play and play and play.

  3. I love the washing machine and the garden picture. Oh my goodness, I don’t think it gets any cuter than that!

Leave a Reply

