Bun in the oven!

I felt like making something different for brunch. I came across this recipe on a great blog – http://mygrandparentskitchen.wordpress.com/2011/04/15/bacon-and-eggs-in-a-roll/

It is very simple to make. All you need is:

  • as many bread buns as you need
  • eggs
  • bacon
  • herbs; parsley, oregano etc.

Cut the buns in half and scoop out the inside of the bottom half. Keep the top half for later.

Make sure that you make a decent enough hole in the bun. Otherwise the egg will spill over the edges.

If you have children, let them help with scooping out the bread and picking off the leaves from the fresh herbs. In Seren’s case, she will probably eat everything. I caught her quite contentedly shoving chives into her mouth, “making them disappear” as she said.

Next, place short strips of bacon into the holes. Then crack an egg on top of the bacon.

Seren loved helping to make this and enjoyed even more the act of eating it!

6 Comments

Filed under Family, food, Recipes

6 responses to “Bun in the oven!

  1. These look amazing..think me and my wee girl will have a go tomorrow..thank you..ELiza

  2. I love doing this on weekends. I always call it eggs in a basket. Don’t want to jinx anything.:)

  3. Thanks :) Looks like your kids were intrigued. :)

  4. This does look great, and so easy! Perfect timing as I’m about to make breakfast and I think I already have everything I need to make this.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

