Velvety sin.

I made this for dessert for our Easter Sunday feast. Yes, it has taken me a month and a half to post it, but better late than never! It was to die for. The chocolate was so rich.  I used O’Connaill’s organic chocolate, which is made in Co. Cork. The smell of the chocolate alone was enough to send me into a cocoa coma.

The chocolate really acted as a launch pad for the floral-citrus flavours of the cardamom. This spice changed the mousse into a luxury, which was sinfully delicious. I loved crushing the cardamom pods in the mortar, releasing the smell throughout the kitchen. The kids loved sticking their noses in to experience this new smell.

I poured the mousse into little Moroccan tea glasses. It was great because I could prepare it and put them in the fridge the day before. This saved on time the next day amidst the frenzy of cooking three other courses.

Chocolate & cardamom mousse, amaretti and coffee

Chocolate & Cardamom Mousse

2oog good-quality dark chocolate (minimum 70% cocoa solids)

100ml single cream

4 eggs, separated

1 teaspoon caster sugar

half teaspoon cardamom seeds

(this serves 4 people)

Method

Break the chocolate into a glass bowel suspended over a saucepan of simmering water. Stir often to make sure that no lumps form.

Ready for action!

Remove from the heat and stir in the cream, egg yolks, sugar and cardamom seeds.

In a clean bowl, whisk the egg whites until they form stiff peaks.

Fold the whisked eggs into the chocolate mixture.

Fold in gently to allow air into the mixture

Pour the chocolate mixture into individual glasses and place in the fridge for 1 hour or until set.

Pour into cups or glasses, even espresso cups will do

This recipe is taken from Homemade: Irresistible recipes for every occasion by Clodagh McKenna, 2010

Of course this would not have achieved without the help of my two trusty tasters helpers.

Olwyn's gobstopper

Seren's chocolate beard

Then it was seriously a case of death by chocolate…

I don't need instructions on how to eat this!

See! I am an expert at it.

I think Babi and Olwyn approve.

And the award for the biggest chocaholic goes to...

10 Comments

Filed under food, Recipes

10 responses to “Velvety sin.

  1. That was so good! And the leftover mousse lasted at least a week in the fridge, which I think I ate, one per night, for just that long! Thanks.

  2. My wife and I tasted chocolate on the RIng of Skellig last year! Wonderful recipe, those glasses bursting, (brimming?) with chocolate are hard to look at when hungry!

  3. Lovely pictures and wonderful blog.

    By the way, I have a new post up and I’m new here, it’s a satire and humerous post about lying.

    http://muzzydaudonsports.wordpress.com/2011/06/10/please-stop-with-your-excuses/

    I would love your feedback on this mate, thanks

  4. Jean West-Watanabe

    My goodness, some of these recipes left me salivating…. I am definitely going to try them when company comes to visit sometime this summer. Thanks for sharing. Great food blog!

    Cheers from the USA!

  5. Explain to me what cardamom tastes like. That looks incredibly good!

    • Thanks Leah! Cardamom is a spice that you normally come across in Indian food. But it goes so well along with chocolate! It is a really citrussy, floral flavour. It is nice infused in warm milk with a cinnamon stick and a drop of honey. Kids love it!

  6. like it a lot! keep it going (;

Leave a Reply

