The jewel in the garden.

I planted nasturtiums in the garden a while back and they are really taking off now. There is one especially that sits next to the raspberry bushes and it is flourishing in that particular spot. I had no idea that it could creep along the ground until one day I spotted a cheeky runner making its way to the wall! I am fond of this plant though (perhaps a bit unhealthily, as if it were my child). It is the first and best of the lot of nasturtiums and I watch it proudly growing each day. Every evening I go out to inspect its progress. Tonight I discovered that it was harbouring its own microcosm! Lo and behold there was the first flower bud holding its head up with great pride, as it should. Look at how aerodynamic it is. It reminds me of the shape of a raptor’s head (but much more beautiful of course :))

The flower is not alone however. On every leaf there is a different occupant. Here is a little yellow spider who has delicately spun his web using the leaf’s edges as his frame.

He’s not the tidiest little fella though, not having cleaned up after his dinner. Yuck!

Across the way, little white fly eggs have been laid with military precision. Peter sorrowfully informed me that these are not the friendliest things to ooh and aah over as they will devour the neighbouring carrots. 

Buh-bye eggies. Thank goodness for parasitic wasps to take care of these little things. They lay their eggs in the white fly eggs. It’s a cruel world. Not the prettiest thing to look at (turn away now if bugs make you want to vomit!).

Although the meandering lines across the leaves look nice, these are as a result of leaf miners. I enjoy squashing them between my finger tips, a bit sadistic, I know, but effective.

I guess that’s why the nasturtium is so suited to being a companion plant in the garden. It attracts all sorts of trouble by luring  nasty bugs toward it with its giant saucers for leaves and exotic jewels for flowers.

6 Comments

Filed under food, Garden, Herbs, Recipes

6 responses to “The jewel in the garden.

  1. Good photos! Don’t quote me on those “facts” though! The flower was out in full bloom today, so you’ll have to update with the photo I took of it. ;)

  2. Your garden sounds so grand! Great photos.

  3. wow look at all the occupants on your leaves!!!

  4. I love nasturtiums too. Their colors are so beautiful and they taste really good in salad!

  5. I am sure your nasturtium flower bloomed beautifully. I really like that plant. I have a hard time getting them going from seed. I have -0- in my garden this year. It is greatly missed. I will enjoy the photo of yours. Emily

    • This is the first year I sowed nasturtiums and I love them. I was unaware how they can take over the place. The flowers have begun to open and they are so vivid against the green leaves.

Leave a Reply

