Rocket fuel

It was a busy weekend trying to keep up with what to make with all the nice things growing in the garden. I finally got around to making the radish tops soup. This was actually amazing. It tasted so nice. The slow sautéing of the onion really added a sweet flavour. The children loved it too surprisingly. I made fresh rolls with ham, cheese, lettuce, radish and mustard to go along with the soup. It all just tasted like more once gobbled up.

After that bit of sustenance, it was back out to the garden to figure out what to do with all the rocket, which was about to flower.  I decided to give it the chop, with the help of Seren. Any opportunity to use her scissors :)

Helping me snip the rocket.

I decided to make the old faithful pesto. Can’t go much wrong with that. Rocket is peppery so I wanted to add something that would counteract that. I toasted walnuts as they are sweet, plus I like the smell.

I made two different types:

Garlic and Rocket Pesto

  • clove of garlic
  • two handfuls of rocket
  • handful of walnuts
  • couple of glugs of oil
  • spoon of honey
  • squeeze of lemon
  • pinch of sea salt

Throw it all in a blender/mixer and give it a blast. I added some parmesan but this could be added before eating.

Rocket and sun-dried Tomato Pesto

  • three to four sun-dried tomato halves, soaked in oil
  • two handfuls of rocket
  • handful of walnuts
  • couple of glugs of oil
  • spoon of honey
  • squeeze of lemon
  • pinch of sea salt

Repeat the same process as above. Make sure to pour the pesto into sterilized jars. Use them whatever pleases you!

 By the way, does anyone know of a more appetising name for the soup. Radish top soup is not very appealing!

9 Comments

Filed under food, Garden, Herbs, Recipes

9 responses to “Rocket fuel

  1. now there is something I have never seen. Radish top pesto, soup etc
    My husband will go over the moon to see this

  2. That soup looks awesome!

  3. Radish top soup. I might have to plant more radishes late this fall to give that a try. Thanks! As I was reading, when you mentioned trying to figure out what to do with all the rocket – pesto – is what immediately came to mind. Your pesto’s look wonderful. YUM! Emily

  4. I use arugula, err rocket, in pesto too! It just has that extra bite. I love it.

  5. I have not tried any of these dishes, but they sound wonderful! The photo of your daughter is adorable.

Leave a Reply

